Allentown
37° F
Overcast
Overcast

Christie signs sex offender law

Published On: Jun 03 2014 07:39:47 AM CDT

New Jersey is getting tough on sex offenders who prey on children.

TRENTON, N.J. -

New Jersey has become the 46th state to enact a law toughening penalties for sex offenders who prey on children.

On Monday, Gov. Chris Christie signed the law known as the "Jessica Lunsford Act," which imposes mandatory 25-year terms without parole for anyone convicted of assaulting a child younger than 13.

Prosecutors would be permitted to negotiate a 15-year sentence to keep some victims from having to testify.

The bill is named after a 9-year-old Florida girl who was kidnapped, raped and buried alive by a convicted sex offender in 2005.

Similar laws around the country are intended to keep child sex offenders locked up longer to reduce their ability to re-offend.

The girl's father, Mark Lunsford, has pushed hard for such laws.

He flew to Trenton to attend Monday's bill signing.